Hawaii's Second Statewide Cupping Competition

Sponsored by the Hawaii Coffee Association and the Hawaii Department of Agriculture. The Hawaii Coffee Association’s Annual Conference held July 16th – 18th, 2010 at the Sheraton Keahou Resort and Spa was a huge success. Entrants to the cupping were evaluated by an independent cupping panel of industry professionals. Congratulations to our winners (for the second year in a row) of "Best Coffee - Maui District" Gerry Ross and Janet Simpson of Kupa'a Farms. Lorie Obra of Rusty's Coffee in Ka'u won first place with our own Gerry and Janet coming in second in the state! Next month certificates will be delivered commemorating participation and will include the "Coffee Aspects" as judged by the cupping panel. Thanks to everyone who participated in the event!